## MINUTES STATE POLICE COMMISSION OCTOBER 27, 2011

The State Police Commission convened its monthly meeting at 9:15 A.M. on Thursday, October 27, 2011 in Classrooms C and D, State Police Headquarters, 7901 Independence Boulevard, Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Present were Chairman Mark Oxley, Co-Chairman Jason Turner, Members Freddie Pitcher, William Goldring, and William Norfolk, Attorney. Franklin Kyle and Joe Cage were absent.

On motion duly made and seconded by unanimous vote of the Members present, the Commission voted to approve the Minutes from the September 15, 2011 meeting.

There were no employees present for the Employee Opportunity to Address the Commission.

Regarding the hearing of Barry Branton, Docket No. 10-194-D, a settlement agreement was reached. All members were asked to sign the decision and forward it to the Director.

Regarding the hearing of Jay Sandifer, Docket No. 10-193-T, the appeal was withdrawn.

Regarding the hearing of David Bryant, Docket No. 11-199-T, the hearing is scheduled for Thursday, December 15, 2011.

Under Commission Business, Chairman Mark Oxley reported that Dr. Sharon Naquin had sent a letter to the Commission stating that she was being prevented by Louisiana State University from entering into contracts for secondary employment and would no longer be allowed to conduct the promotional testing. A meeting has been scheduled with Helen Wise, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Sociology at Louisiana State University at Shreveport for Friday, November 4, 2011 to discuss LSUS conducting both the cadet and promotional testing. Louisiana State Troopers Association has conducted a member survey asking for input on the promotional testing process. This information will be provided to Dr. Wise at the meeting.

On motion duly made and seconded by unanimous vote of the Members present, the Commission voted to enter into executive session to discuss other matters.

At the Conclusion of the Commission's agenda, on motion duly made and seconded, by unanimous vote of the members present, the Commission voted to adjourn its meeting at 9:37 a.m.

Respectfully submitted:

Mark Oxley, Chairman

Cathy Derbonne, Executive Director